Two Teams, Two Individuals Selected for NCAA Regional Golf Tournament

Charlotte, NC (May 1, 2018) - The Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA) golf program has marked history as two teams and two individuals advance to the NCAA Division II Men's Golf Championships. Livingstone College, Virginia Union University, Sam Cudjoe (SAU), and Isaiah Shaw (FSU) will play at The Resort at Glad Spring in Daniels, West Virginia on May 7-9, 2018.

DII men's golf championship history

Latest regional rankings

A total field of 80 teams and 32 student-athletes competing as individuals have been selected to participate in regional competition of the 2018 NCAA Division II Men’s Golf Championships. At a minimum, the top three teams and the top two student-athletes not with a team from each regional (regardless of region) will advance to the finals May 21-25, at the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail at the Shoals, Fighting Joe Course in Muscle Shoals, Alabama.  The remaining eight team berths will be allocated based on the regions represented in the prior year’s head-to-head medal play portion of the championships, with the maximum number of teams from a given region capped at seven.  The finals will be hosted by the University of North Alabama.

Tournaments will be conducted at four regional sites with regional pairings as follows:

Atlantic and East

Central and Midwest

South and Southeast

South Central and West

Teams and individuals are listed in rank order.  Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in brackets next to the institution’s name.

Atlantic/East Regional

The Resort at Glade Springs, Daniels, West Virginia; Mountain East Conference, host.

Atlantic Region:

  1. Charleston (West Virginia) [Mountain East Conference]
  2. Indiana (Pennsylvania) [Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference]
  3. California (Pennsylvania)
  4. Millersville
  5. West Liberty
  6. West Chester
  7. Virginia Union
  8. Mercyhurst
  9. Gannon
  10. Livingstone [Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association]


  1. Sam Cudjoe, Saint Augustine’s
  2. Eric Dargis, Wheeling Jesuit
  3. Isaiah Shaw, Fayetteville State
  4. Owen Elliott, Shepherd