WSSU's Smith and Lawrence Named To AP Little All-American Team

The Associated Press – Winston-Salem State senior quarterback, Kameron Smith and his center, senior Markus Lawrence have been named to the 2012 Associated Press Little All-American team.

Both players were named to the All-American 2nd team.

Smith led all HBCU players with 3,312 passing yards and a WSSU and CIAA record, 43 passing touchdowns.  He completed 59 percent of his passes and rushed for 337 yards and four touchdowns and was the CIAA's Offensive Player of the Year. He also finished 3rd in the NCAA DII, with a passing efficiency rating of 170.03 in leading the Rams to a 14-1 record and a runner-up finish in the NCAA DII National Championship game. Smith finishes his career with an amazing 31-4 record as a starter for WSSU. He holds virtually every passing record in the Winston-Salem State University record books.

Lawrence finishes his career on a high note, as he was also one of the last few remaining from the Division I experiment. Lawrence was named first team All-CIAA for the second consecutive season and finished third in the Gene Upshaw Lineman of the Year award this season.

Quarterback - Zach Zulli, junior, 6-foot-2, 188 pounds, Shippensburg
Running backs - Franklyn Quiteh, junior, 5-10, 203, Bloomsburg; Michael Hill, senior, 5-11, 205, Missouri Western State; James Clay, senior, 5-10, 190, Mount St. Joseph.
Linemen - Garth Heikkinen, senior, 6-4, 315, Minnesota-Duluth; Manase Foketi, senior, 6-5, 320, West Texas A&M; Mark Jackson, senior, 6-5, 322, Glenville State; Ryan Schraeder, senior, 6-6, 305, Valdosta State; Curtis James, senior, 6-3, 304, St. Thomas, Minn.
Receivers - Jeff Janis, junior, 6-3, 215, Saginaw Valley; Isaiah Voegeli, senior, 6-0, 185, Merrimack.
All-purpose player - John Brown, junior, 5-11, 171, Pittsburg State.
Kicker - Sergio Castillo, junior, 5-11, 175, West Texas A&M.
Linemen - Brandon Williams, senior, 6-3, 325, Missouri Southern; Ethan Westbrooks, junior, 6-4, 275, West Texas A&M; B.J. Stevens, junior, 6-2, 245, California, Pa.; D.J. Chappell, senior, 6-1, 285, Huntingdon.
Linebackers - Corey Johnson, senior, 5-10, 240, Catawba; Leron Furr, junior, 6-3, 220, Fort Valley State; Ronnell Williams, sophomore, 6-1, 230, West Chester.
Defensive backs - Rontez Miles, senior, 6-1, 210, California, Pa.; Nick Driskill, senior, 5-10, 205, Mount Union; Jack Moro, junior, 5-11, 190, St. Cloud State; Trelan Taylor, senior, 5-10, 195, Chadron State.
Punter - Taylor Accardi, senior, 6-2, 205, Colorado Mines.
Quarterback - Kameron Smith, senior, Winston-Salem St.
Running backs - Rayon Simmons, senior, Winona State; Scottie Williams, senior, Elmhurst; Derrick Washington, senior, Tuskegee.
Linemen - Will Ferrell, junior, Hampden-Sydney; Ryan Jensen, senior, Colorado State-Pueblo; Brian Clarke, junior, Bloomsburg, Pa.; Kevin Day, senior, Carson-Newman; Markus Lawrence, senior, Winston-Salem St.
Receivers - Brandon Boyle, junior, Castleton State; Chris Bowden, senior, Wingate.
All-purpose player - John Borsellino, senior, Benedictine.
Kicker - Allen Cain, senior, Texas Lutheran.
Linemen - Zach Moore, junior, Concordia-St. Paul, Minn.; Jake Metz, junior, Shippensburg; David Bass, senior, Missouri Western; Clay Eaton, senior, Oberlin.
Linebackers - Javicz Jones, senior, Mary Hardin-Baylor; Corey Jones, senior, Lane; Kevin Lindholm, Chadron State.
Defensive backs - Nate DeJong, senior, Northwest Missouri; Zach Autenrieb, senior, Thomas More; Abdul Kenneh, senior, New Mexico Highlands; Markell Rice, senior, American International.
Punter - Randy Weich, senior, Wayne State, Neb.
Quarterback - Kevin Burke, sophomore, Mount Union.
Running backs - Terrance Cobbs, junior, Cumberland, Ky.; Harvie Tuck, senior, Indiana, Pa.; Brandon Baker, junior, Carson-Newman.
Linemen - Macon Allan, senior, Missouri Western; Tom Knowlton, senior, Concordia-Moorhead; Dan Matha, senior, Indiana, Pa.; Ken Van Heule, senior, Midwestern State; Edmund Kugbila, senior, Valdosta State.
Receivers - Jasper Collins, senior, Mount Union; Ma'Quone Edmonds, senior, Indianapolis.
All-purpose player - Tyron Laughinghouse, senior, Saint Augustine's.
Kicker - Sam Bockshus, junior, Minnesota-Mankato.
Linemen - Dexter Davis, senior, Friends; Ridge Wilson, senior, West Alabama; Brad Davis, senior, Elizabeth City State; Tim Taylor, senior, Thiel.
Linebackers - Nate Dreiling, junior, Pittsburg State; Mike Hendrick, senior, Knox; Darius Wilson, senior, Central State.
Defensive backs - Phil Terio, sophomore, Salve Regina; C.J. Roberts, sophomore, Colorado State-Pueblo; Brandon Dixon, junior Northwest Missouri; Johnny Franco, senior, Indiana, Pa.
Punter - Christian Hallingstad, senior, Wisconsin-La Crosse.